The Hatmakers

The Hatmakers

Tamzin Merchant

Enter a spellbinding world brimming with magic and wonder in this soaring adventure from an exceptional new storytelling talent, perfect for fans of Michelle Harrison, Jessica Townsend and Katherine Rundell.

'Wildly inventive . . . full of laugh-out-loud humour, enchanting magic and rebellious hope. I loved it'
Catherine Doyle

'Imaginative debut . . . entertaining, comical and breezy, and the settings are conjured in transporting detail'
The Times, Children's Book of the Week.


Cordelia comes from a long line of magical milliners, who weave alchemy and enchantment into every hat. In Cordelia's world, Making - crafting items such as hats, cloaks, watches, boots and gloves from magical ingredients - is a rare and ancient skill, and only a few special Maker families remain. When Cordelia's father Prospero and his ship, the Jolly Bonnet, are lost at sea during a mission to collect hat ingredients, Cordelia is determined to find him.

But Uncle Tiberius and Aunt Ariadne have no time to help the littlest Hatmaker, for an ancient rivalry between the Maker families is threatening to surface. Worse, someone seems to be using Maker magic to start a war. It's up to Cordelia to find out who, and why . . . Featuring gorgeous black-and-white illustrations throughout by Paola Escobar.

'An utterly charming adventure full of wildness, wit, magic and heart'
Anna James

'A cosy magical adventure peppered with charming detail'
The Bookseller


We Also Recommend